Patchwork Foundation Recognises Birmingham’s Preet Kaur Gill with ‘MP of the Year’ Award

Preet Kaur Gill, MP for Birmingham, Edgbaston has won the Overall ‘MP of the Year’ award instituted by diversity and inclusion charity Patchwork Foundation.

The MP of the Year Awards celebrate the work of MPs from across the country who actively work with underrepresented and disadvantaged communities across the UK. The awards provide a motivation for MPs to work with diverse communities and highlights best practice.

The charity recently announced 2020’s ‘Overall MP of the Year’ as Preet Kaur Gill MP.

Taking to social media, Patchwork Foundation revealed the winner in a tweet which quoted Gill’s reaction to the announcement.

They posted: “A massive congratulations to our Overall MP of the Year, @PreetKGillMP, who was chosen by the judges for reflecting the values of the Patchwork Foundation. She has consistently championed young people and fought for a politics that represents everyone. #MPoftheYearAwards.”

Gill has been recognised for her consistent championing of young people, representation of the South Asian Community and her initiative to tackle fuel poverty via a strategic campaign aimed at the UK’s biggest fuel companies.

Chancellor of the Exchequer, Rishi Sunak has been recognised as ‘Conservative MP of the Year’ and Diane Abbott MP has received the Muhammed Aminul Haque Award for services to underrepresented communities.

The Patchwork Foundation believes in promoting and highlighting best practice. Each year MPs across the country work closely with diverse communities, with many MPs delivering excellent representation and coverage to otherwise underrepresented segments of society.

The Patchwork Foundation rewards those winning MPs – nominated by members of the public or grassroots community organisations and selected by an independent panel of judges – by acknowledging them as the MPs of the Year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here